How Old Do You Have to Be to Ride in the Bed of a Truck in Texas?

In Texas, the legal age to ride in the bed of a truck is 18 years or older. The Texas Transportation Code Section 545.404 states that no person may “operate on a highway a motor vehicle that is designed, used, or maintained primarily for the transportation of property and that has an open bed not equipped with side and tailgate rails or other fencing” unless all passengers in the bed of the truck are 18 years old or more.

It is important to note that this law applies only to public highways. If you are driving on private property, such as a farm, ranch or other private land, then you do not have to abide by this law. However, it is still important to use caution when driving with passengers in the back of your truck – especially if they are younger than 18 years old.

Safety should always be your top priority when transporting passengers in the back of your truck. Passengers should always wear seat belts (even if they are adults) and be seated upright with their feet on the floor so they do not get thrown out if you make sudden stops or turns. It is also important to check local laws for any additional regulations regarding riding in trucks on public roads.

In conclusion, if you are traveling on public roads in Texas with passengers in the bed of your truck, all passengers must be 18 years old or above according to Texas Transportation Code Section 545.404. It is also important to take safety measures when transporting passengers in trucks such as providing seat belts and ensuring that everyone stays seated properly at all times.

Photo of author

James Gardner