Riding in the back of a pickup truck is a common activity throughout the state of Missouri. However, many people are not aware that this activity is actually illegal and can result in fines and other penalties.
What Does The Law Say?
In Missouri, it is illegal for anyone to ride in the back of a pickup truck if the truck does not have a secure bed liner or other safety device to protect riders from flying out of the truck or being thrown off by sudden stops. Additionally, any person riding in the back of a pickup must be wearing a seat belt at all times. Anyone riding in the back of a pickup without these two safety measures is breaking the law.
Penalties For Violating The Law
If you are caught riding in the back of a pickup truck without both safety measures, you can be fined up to $25. If you are caught driving with someone in the back of your truck who is not wearing a seat belt, you could be fined up to $50. Additionally, if an officer believes that you are endangering yourself or others by riding in the back of a pickup, they may write you up for reckless driving.
Conclusion: Is It Illegal To Ride In The Back Of A Pickup Truck In The State Of Missouri?
Yes, it is illegal to ride in the back of a pickup truck without having proper safety measures such as an installed bed liner or seat belts for all passengers. Violating this law can result in fines and other penalties.